Firsts…

I have been in South Africa for a month now and have experienced several firsts! I have started working in the schools in order to counsel children in need. Structure here is very different than I am used to. We have had some trouble getting counseling starting following the winter holiday, and now the teachers are planning to go on strike next week. I have had to learn to adapt to changing circumstances and just try the best I can, even when I am unsure of what is going on. I have had to depend on God for wisdom and strength through it all. There are times when I feel inadequate in my counseling skills. There are kids with horrible circumstances and life experiences; it is hard to know how best to work with them. I know that after this year God will have taught me so much about how to reach kids with all kinds of problems. For now, I know God has called me here to work with these kids and so I just have to continually pray for his wisdom, power, counsel, knowledge, and strength.

On a lighter note I ate my first chicken feet the other day- something I had never planned on eating. Chicken feet are actually a common dish in some cultures here. I got to work on Friday and a friend asked me if I was feeling adventurous…she then informed me we would both be trying chicken feet! They taste like chicken…in case you were wondering!! But the toenails and everything are still attached, which made them a little hard for me to eat. Next they want me to try fried worms…..we will see how that goes!

I also went to my first rugby game last Saturday. I had a little bit of trouble following everything that is going on because I am used to American Football. I was able to sit in the front row and take pictures with the mascot. It was a great night!

God is continuing to faithfully provide. The women I work with are amazing and becoming great friends. They have taken me under their wing and are making sure I don’t get too homesick. I feel blessed by them and by the children at the Bethany house who I get to see everyday. Overall I am excited to be here and see what all God is going to do.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bethbeck
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 14:31:23

    You’ll have to post a picture of chicken feet. I’ve eaten frog legs, but only once. Not a fan. But fried worms? Oh nooooo.

    🙂

    Reply

  2. Victor Moraes
    Aug 08, 2010 @ 22:02:11

    Glad to see your work. Really not easy. One advice I would give to children is to love, of all circumstances and to have faith in the divine reward, today, tomorrow, forever. Already in the relief of faith in the Lord of eternal life. Those who do not want to sup with the Almighty God of Love? And what do we do with eternal life and heavenly paradise promised to the righteous and good-hearted, loving fies the designs of the Lord? I will play, watch some movies, take a juice on the beach, play football, ever. Have you ever thought what Charlie Chapplin should already have produced in the sky? And Mozart, who will again he has already done in heaven? Magnificent, beautiful, spectacular hope given us by God, the Divine will! Play with the children because it is the best we can do for all eternity. A hug from your fan Victor Gustavo. God bless you!

    Reply

  3. Carol
    Aug 09, 2010 @ 22:38:04

    For real? Coffee and now chicken feet? I’m so proud! 😉

    Reply

Leave a comment